Monks, Oktober, & The Caffeinated Goatherd

I’m sitting in the caf across the quad at school, looking at the leaves (which are still very green here, apparently they didn’t get the memo) and judging all the white girls in their leggings and scarves, and leather boots. But at the same time, I can’t be too harsh on my own kind, especially since I am wearing the same exact thing. But mine was bought at a thrift store; because I use the current fads as an excuse for my lack of financial independence.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; mornings. Now, I am a morning person and they have a great deal of appeal. But today I was tired, I am tired, I will be tired. Tired, according to my sociology professor, has now become one of my social locating factor. I am white, I am female, I am tired.

Now, the obvious answer to this whole ordeal is one beautiful thing. The liquid gold of the exhausted college student… (pause for effect) coffee. Sweet soulful grounds of goodness.  According to the NCA (yes, they have a National Coffee Association), the history of coffee begins with a legend of an African goatherd. What is a goatherd you ask? A shepherd for goats. His name was Kaldi, and one day, he noticed that his flock was eating berries from a tree & became so high-spirited that they didn’t sleep a wink that night.

Lucky goats. Kaldi shared his discovery with the monks at a nearby abbot and they soon were using it to stay awake for the long hours of prayer. Monks using a gateway drug? Scandalous.

Of course, like the hookah, the Flood story, and the wheel, every early culture (on that specific side of the globe) claims coffee as a first for their people. Good for them.

But I digress, the real reason for writing this blog is because as a coffee-drinking, leather boot-clad, iPhone-carrying white woman, I felt a compulsion to write a blog on the first day of October. But I will spare you the endless fall quotes & pictures of leaves. Instead I’ll leave you with two things.

Firstly:  One in five adults on this planet believe aliens live among us, disguised as people. Thanks Men in Black.

Secondly: a quote (because I can’t help myself) by Louisa May Alcott, “I’d rather take coffee than compliments just now.”

So enjoy this first day of Oktober (no, I spelled it like that on purpose) & have a cup of Joe. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

