Saturday Night Thoughts

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.”

[Meditations Divine and Moral]”
Anne Bradstreet, The Works of Anne Bradstreet

Today the temperature rose to a balmy 37 & I rejoiced. Lately, I have found myself becoming more and more negative. Now, don’t jump to the conclusion that I’m on this modernist be-positive boat, but I have found that complaining and general gloom is the opposite of joy and gratitude. A boat I very much want to be on. So I made a silly mid-February resolution to try, at least a little, every day to rejoice in the littlest of things. I love quotes, small, long, famous, infamous, unknowns, if it’s good, I’ll stash it. But I’m not big on motivational poster quotes, they’re usually a little too cheesy.

But this was a good quote and it’s stuck with me, the gist being: “…people aren’t joyful and grateful because they are happy people. They are happy because they’re constantly joyful and grateful.” So I’m putting it to the test. I fully realize that the Lord was very clear and explained to us that there are times to mourn, but I’m pretty sure He didn’t mean 24/7 just because life isn’t going perfectly to Laurel’s preconceived notions. I feel silly at times, because I’ve literally stopped myself in the stark middle of a conversation, cutting my speech like a bad film, but it is important to stick with my attitude diet. Even if it means thanking the Lord for a temperature above freezing. Here is to a beautiful, peaceful Saturday night & a heart if gratitude.

-Love, Me

Leave a Reply

